Reflections on 2014

happy-new-year-bleach-anime-3322578-800-542

Well, 2014 has come to a close and it’s time for me to reflect on the year. Overall, 2014 was kind of an ok year for me. I enjoyed making new friends on Twitter and live tweeting Toonami every Saturday night. Twitter has become, in a sense now, my go to with regards to sharing my random thoughts and interacting with people. It has been a fun experience for me because I’m not the most social person in the world and dystonia can be a pain at times. I must admit that Twitter has been too fun and I haven’t been blogging that much. I hope to spend more time in 2015, working on writing blog posts and adding more random thoughts.

Live tweeting Toonami has been a highlight for me in 2014. I think my best tweets and interactions come with tweeting snarky things. Attack on Titan was a perfect example of this. When, I originally saw Attack on Titan, I wasn’t the biggest fan. I thought it was good, but over-rated. After, watching it with my fellow Toonami Faithful, I actually began to enjoy it more and had fun with it. I actually created a meme of Attack on Titan that the people on Toonami’s Tumblr actually reblogged. It was so cool! I think tweets about Attack on Titan were my highest retweets! People liked my crack about Snorlax chasing Ash in a apple costume as a metaphor to how characters on Attack on Titan get eaten regularly.

Akame ga Kill, however, would blow Attack on Titan out of the water with the killing of characters. In fact, it’s pretty much the Game of Thrones of anime. Akame ga Kill became a summer anime that I enjoyed because it was trolling the fans back. For some strange reason, I enjoyed that. Sword Art Online Season 2 was another anime I thoroughly enjoyed. Hopefully, 2015 provides the same experience as 2014 did.

2014 was also a year of Batman. Yep, it was Batman’s 75th birthday and I was excited to see how DC Comics would celebrate. I was very happy with how DC Comics handled it and I enjoyed the panel discussions on the character. I even won a prize from Spirit of Halloween’s Halloween contest. I won Assault on Arkham! This year is the Joker’s and Catwoman’s 75th birthday! Can’t wait to see what DC Comics has planned for them.

On the family front, I’ve got some sad news in recent weeks, as my uncle’s mother passed away and my mother’s cousin’s wife is expected to live only for a few more months; she has cancer. I also learned that one my old neighbors has past away as well. Life is precious and you never know when your time’s up.

I’ve been doing fine, overall, though dystonia continues to drive me crazy sometimes. I’m trying to seek different options for treatment. Surgery has made me a little nervous and I’m hoping to use it as a last resort. I’ve seen simple operations being botched, so I’m a little hesitant to go with it. I’m positive things will work out.

In the end, 2014 had it’s ups and downs, but overall it was fine. I hope 2015 is even better!

Leave a Reply

