What is deep brain stimulation?

logo

Last month, I updated everyone on how 2015 went as a year for me and I told you that I’ve made a big decision with regards to treating my dystonia. If you recalled, I was going to have Deep Brain Stimulation surgery on January 7th. The Deep Brain Stimulation surgery didn’t quite go as planned. The local anesthesia used for the procedure caused an allergic reaction, so they had to halt everything and make sure I was all right. I spent a few days in the hospital as a precaution. I’m all right now and I won’t let this setback get me down. In fact, I’m heading back to surgery on February 4th. I’m positive things will work out and I plan to update everyone on the process like I said in December.

I’m sure you’re wandering what is Deep Brain Stimulation and why I would consider it? I’ve been thinking about this procedure for awhile now and I decided that reducing the symptoms, even if a little, is worth trying. According to the Mayo Clinic. “Deep brain stimulation involves implanting electrodes within certain areas of your brain. These electrodes produce electrical impulses that regulate abnormal impulses. Or, the electrical impulses can affect certain cells and chemicals within the brain.

The amount of stimulation in deep brain stimulation is controlled by a pacemaker-like device placed under the skin in your upper chest. A wire that travels under your skin connects this device to the electrodes in your brain.

Deep brain stimulation is used to treat a number of neurological conditions, such as:

  • Essential tremor
  • Parkinson’s disease
  • Dystonia
  • Epilepsy
  • Tourette syndrome
  • Chronic pain
  • Obsessive compulsive disorder”

As you can see, the procedure is serious, but if it could help, then it’s worth the risk, in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

